The Tao Te Ching is a classic body of work written by Chinese philosopher, Lao Tzu in the 6th century B.C. The Tao holds words of wisdom & spiritual enlightenment within it's 81 verses. It guides the student & teacher alike with a moral structure known as, The Great Integrity.

Verse 17 Leaders

There are four types of leaders:
The best leader is indistinguishable
from the will of those who select her.
The next best leader enjoys the love
and praise of the people.
The poor leader rules through coersion and fear.
And the worst leader is a tyrant despised
by the multitudes who are the victims of his power.

What a world of difference among these leaders!
In the last two types, what is done
is without sincerity or trust-only coersion.
In the second type, there is a harmony
between the leader and the people.
In the first type, whatever is done happens
so naturally that no one presumes to take the credit!

"The Tao Te Ching, A New Translation"
By: Ralph Alan Dale
ISBN: 0-7607-4998-1